Awards and Recognition

Awards and Recognition

Hurst Gold Standard of Nursing Award


The Hurst Gold Standard of Nursing Award™ recognizes nursing staff of hospitals that provide excellent patient care based on patient satisfaction and quality scores. The Hurst data analytics team reviews key quality indicators from HCAHPS surveys which include categories of nurse communication, staff responsiveness, medication communication, pain management, discharge information and care transition. Those nursing services that achieve top-tier weighted scores, significantly above the national average on these performance measures are recognized and awarded.


Outstanding Patient Experience Award

2014, 2015, 2016

The Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ recognizes hospitals for providing outstanding patient experience based on 10 measures related to doctor and nurse communication, hospital cleanliness and noise levels, and medication and post-discharge care instructions. The award is based on the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) patient survey data from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).


Bariatric Surgery Excellence Award

2014, 2015

The Bariatric Surgery Excellence Award™ recognizes hospitals for superior bariatric surgery outcomes. Patients who have bariatric (weight loss surgery) at these nationally recognized hospitals have a lower risk of experiencing a complication during their hospital stay.


America's 100 Best Hospitals for Patient Experience


The Best Hospitals Award recognizes hospitals across the country for having outstanding female patient satisfaction. America’s Top 100 Best Hospitals for Patient Satisfaction were chosen based on patient’s willingness to recommend, doctor and nurse communications, staff help, pain management, cleanliness, and explanation of medications.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 3.54.25 PM

Other Awards


  • Texas Hospital Quality Improvement, Silver Award (2014)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Bariatric Surgery (2011-2013)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Total Knee Replacement (2012-2014)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Joint Replacement (2011-2013)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Gynecologic Surgery (2011-2012)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Spine Surgery (2012-2013)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Total Hip Replacement (2012-2013)
  • Healthgrades® Five-Star Recipient for Back and Neck Surgery (2012-2013)